Tuesday, May 25, 2010

I've seriously been rocking the deals lately!! I keep saving all the impressive receipts thinking this blog might end up being similar to those I follow on a daily basis in awe of their money saving super skills.. and then I go to put gas in my car and am puzzled when it says to go see cashier. Ok, so I try again and run it as credit this time, you know how finicky some of those machines can be. Well... same response, so I go see the cashier, HE tries to run it as debit for a $25 purchase (about half of what it will actually cost to fill my tank mind you) and it doesn't work again. Guess what. My account is overdrawn AGAIN! I haven't done this for years, and its happened twice this month. I can be seriously impressed with my shopping skills, but apparently my accounting, prioritizing and budgeting skills need some work.
Its just that I REALLY ENJOY shopping. And better yet, I really enjoy shopping when I'm spending very little money. But it ends up that even transactions with very little money add up. Now there are the end of the month bills to pay (car insurance, car payment and cell phone bill) and not enough money left. I think its time for an overhaul.
I need to force myself on a cash only system for awhile. I know plenty of Dave Ramsay followers who do it and have major success! Why does it seem so daunting to me? Is it because it will really limit me to take a closer look at my finances and my shopping obsession? Is it because I might have to let some good deals go by without stockpiling? Is it because I might just have to focus more on things that I don't enjoy so much? Here I started this post excited to share my super deals I just got at Fred Meyers, and yesterday's steals at Safeway and RiteAid, but now I'm thinking I need to get on top of my responsibilties so my bills are paid and my bank account balance isn't written in red before I can get back to bragging about how little money I just spent on something that wasn't a dire need at the moment.
Ahh... reflection is good but it can sure be painful sometimes!

Friday, May 21, 2010

Friday... how FABULOUS!

Our little guy slept all night! Isn't it funny how much I sound like a new mom again? This time its our puppy, Maximus, and not a newborn baby. I'm off to a fairly good start this morning, I was able to sleep in while my sometimes-wonderful boyfriend got up with the dog (and the kids) and took care of the morning routines... thanks baby!
My goal for the day is to head in to school early. Fridays Bob has to take me to school because my class gets out at 2:45 which is too late for me to get home in time to pick Ashlyn up from school at 3pm. So Fridays are his day to watch the boy, pick up the girl, and then come pick me up from school. It forces me to be on campus and not off somewhere else shopping, as i'm guilty to say I did yesterday.
I have one reading assignment and quiz to complete for my Allied Health class, I really need to tackle my Filing class and then I've got my Med Term class from 1:30-2:45. I WILL have a productive day today.
Ron is coming down tonight to pick up Ash for the weekend. I think we're actually all pretty excited about this, Bob is grilling some steaks and doing these pretty amazing twice baked potatoes he created. I'm so thankful that Ron and I get along as well as we do. Our friendship is very important to me, it would have never worked in a relationship, but we've made it work being friends and co-parents.
And hopefully this weekend will be time for tattooos. We sold Bob's iphone the other day, and I think thats our plan for the money we have left. Once upon a time we had wanted matching yin-yang tattoos, but we've deviated away from that currently and I think thats ok. I need to find/design something that will signify this time in my life. He asked me yesterday if I thought tattoos have to have meaning... for me, the answer is yes. Someone once told me tattoos are like a personal totem, they tell our story. I like that. I don't think the significance needs to be bold so that everyone understands, but personal significance is important. We'll see what ends up happening!
Happy Friday all... I'm off to change a stinky little boy, refill my coffee cup and more seriously consider getting dressed and ready for school :)

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Its true... I'm a compulsive "Deal" shopper!

So, as the title states... I am admitting in the open that I am a compulsive deal shopper. Some of these things I am pretty dang proud of, like my recent Huggies STEALS at Rite Aid:
Basically in 3 separate shopping trips I paid - $7.91, $11.40 and $3.02 and got 1 big box of Snug & Dry, 4 packages of Little Movers, 2 packages of wipes and some other random food items. I used plenty of Huggies printable coupons (the $3/1 really do make a HUGE difference when I'm stocking up) I also used a $5/20 Rite Aid coupon and a $5/25 purchase coupon. PLUS, my 5 packages of diapers make me eligible for a coupon for a free package of diapers. This makes 6 packages of diapers for less than $25!

Who wants to actually pay full price (over $70 for what I got!!) for something as boring as diapers!?

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Back to Blogging

Obviously this is something that i've let go of for awhile... and all sorts of life has happened in the meantime, but today is the day i pick this back up again. Why not? I don't have enough other commitments do I? :)

I have a new list of goals that I need to try and become more accountable for. I want to be happy for me, and not rely on anyone else (except for maybe my kiddos) to make me happy. I want to raise strong, respectful, courteous, intelligent children that people enjoy being around and think "hey, those children must come from a great home!" and I want our new puppy Maximus to continue to grow and blossom into a great family dog. Right now though, I might settle for not wanting to toss any of them off the balcony from time to time!

I want to finish my associates degree. I have gone to college off and on since I was in the running start program in high school, thats about 11 years now i've been working on a 2 year degree. It might be the round about path, but I'd like to finally finish it.

I've got some serious financial stuff to take care of as well. The idea of being back on my feet and self-sufficient is so appealing. The financial assistance programs I'm on now are so helpful, but its not something I want to lean on for much longer. As weird as it may sound to some, I'm so anxious to be able to pay my bills again, and get some debt taken care of. It has always been an odd feeling of satisfaction to pay bills. I hate how quickly my money goes and that I don't get much time to enjoy it, but I keep looking to the future, because eventually when I don't have to sacrifice an entire paycheck on debt payments life will be so much more enjoyable and less stressful!

Hand in hand with that topic... I think I have a shopping addiction. I'm totally driven by sales and good deals and clearance, OH MY! I'm trying now to delete incoming emails that prompt me to shop online, but I may have to do something drastic soon.

And... if all of this wasn't enough, I've said outloud that I will lose 40-50 pounds. I'm a big girl. I'm over 5'10" and i've got a gigantic chest, but as of right now i'm also in the 230 pound range and I'm not ok with that. My goal is to be under 190. I want to be in better shape, have more energy and feel good about myself and the clothes I can wear. Problem is, I want these things, but I also want the two candy bars I'll eat in one day and all the other junk food I so enjoy.

Thats all for now, I think i've got plenty to work on. Now while my boys are all asleep I need to choose between cleaning, reading my puppy book, homework or napping myself. Decisions, Decisions!

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Financial Update

This should be easy, lol... STILL BROKE!

Actually, I intend for this to be more than just that. I am realizing very quickly that I am probably going to have to find a job that is not somewhere I plan on staying, but just something that I can have to get by until a career job opens up for me. The Papa Murphy's in Woodland is hiring and has open interviews tomorrow between noon - 2. Guess where I'm going tomorrow. I'm not THRILLED about it, but I know its easy work, its not fast food, and I might be able to get away with not working too many evenings if I can manage to swing a day prep job. Plus the fact that I was an assistant manager at Papa Murphys waaaay back when... I would hope this would be an easy job to get. I guess we'll see!

Right now I have to figure out what i've got available as far as funding goes.. against what I've got coming up to pay. Always a challenge when the total going out is more than whats coming in.

I currently have to pay:
$200 to Verizon
$120 as a deposit on my electric bill
$325 car payment

and I still need to order Ashlyn's Daisy Scout vest.


I keep thinking of things in my head too that I want to purchase... I am going to motivate myself by starting to read Dave Ramsey's Total Money Makeover as soon as I finish the book I'm currently reading.

I have a US Bank account that I opened to get the promotional free $50 (which I used to get an Old Navy giftcard and some much needed clothes for myself a while back) I think I'm going to try to use that savings account to try and save a $500 emergency fund and the checking account as a "goal savings". If I don't feel like I have as easy of access to the account, its much more likely to be successful in savings.

The things I want to save for are:
Emergency Fund ($500)
Bed/Mattress (either Craigslist or Ikea)
Dresser (Craigslist or Ikea)
Ipod
Trip to Florida (including Airfare, rental car, hotel(?) and extra money)
Verizon wireless termination fees

Friday, October 23, 2009

A rainy Friday morning...

Oh how I would have loved to not have any children this morning (lol)! If I could have stayed in bed and slept listening to the rain this morning I would be a much happier momma already today! But.. since this is completely NOT the case, I suppose I'll try to make the best of my day regardless...
I've got a pretty long list of things I hope to accomplish today, unfortunately not included on said list is "be lazy" or "take a nap". So... on with the list!

  • Get Ashlyn to school (on time!)
  • Clean living room
  • Clean off chair in LR
  • Vacuum living room
  • Clean kitchen counters
  • Sweep kitchen
  • Clean off/organize kitchen table
  • Take out garbage/diaper garbage
  • Pick up my room
  • Vacuum my room
  • Pick up/clean Ashlyn's room
  • Vacuum Ashlyn's room
  • Get laundry together & load in car
  • Get Dannon food together & load in car
  • Put highchair/pack'n'play in car
  • Write thank you for interviews & mail
  • Complete YMCA application
  • Turn in YMCA application
  • Call about child watch to work out today
  • Order Ashlyn's Daisy uniform
  • Contact Verizon about disconnect fees
Man... I'm now realizing thats a lot that I want to get done! Well.. I'm going to finish this cup of coffee and hopefully get Baby D down for a nap before I turn on some tunes and get started with my list

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Interview #2

This morning was off to another early start... so tough to do on those days when its all nice & warm and cozy in bed!! Thanks to my bestest friend EVER I was able to go to my 9am interview in Portland. She came over this morning to get Ashlyn to school and take Baby D to her house afterwards, I filled up my travel mug with home brewed coffee (limited myself to Starbucks before yesterday's interview) and hit the road. It only took 40-45 minutes to get there, but parking was a PITA! I think the interview went alright, it was a lot of the standard type questions "what is your definition of Teamwork and give us an example of blah, blah, blah.." but I was honest and answered to the best of my ability.
I'm definitely more excited about the interview yesterday, and totally leaning towards a part time position. I guess i'm just afraid of the burnout and stress of working full time with a possible hour or more commute each way when you factor in traffic for going to and from work at a normal time.

I'm tired after the past few days, and still more appointments coming! Ash went to the dentist this afternoon for a cleaning and check, i've got a tentatively schedule dentist appointment for Thursday late morning, and tomorrow I've got a counseling appointment. I'm a little apprehensive about that. I've done some counseling before, but I just know that there is going to be pain and tears involved for sure this time around. There is a lot to work through but I think I'm doing a pretty good job these days at focusing on what I need to do to get on my feet and be healthy.

Because my online to do list worked so well last week... I'm trying it again for tomorrow & Thursday!! Gotta find that motivation anywhere and anyway I can some days!!